July 8: Mozart – Vesperae Solennes, Dixit, 2015

Jon CurtisSeason of the Day, SOTD - July

We’ve been so busy honoring contemporary composers, black composers, touring around the world, and celebrating holidays, that it’s been over a month since we’ve included a classical composer!  So today we will take a pause with Mozart’s “Vesperae Solennes de Confessore,” the first movement, Dixit (Psalm 100).

Quiz of the Day
After Allan, which living composer have we sung the most?
(Answer tomorrow)

Dixit Dominus Domino meo: sede a dextris meis: donec ponam inimicos tuos, scabellum pedum tuorum. Virgam virtutis tuae emittet Dominus ex Sion: dominare in medio inimicorum tuorum. Tecum principium in die virtutis tuae in splendoribus sanctorum: ex utero ante luciferum genui te. Juravit Dominus, et non poenitebit eum: Tu es sacerdos in aeternum secundum ordinem Melchisedech. Dominus a dextris tuis, confregit in die irae suae reges. Judicabit in nationibus implebit ruinas: conquassabit capita in terra multorum. De torrente in via bibet: propterea exaltabit caput. Gloria Patri, et Filio, et Spiritui Sancto. Sicut erat in principio, et nunc, et semper, et in saecula saeculorum. Amen.

The Lord said to my Lord, sit at my right hand, until I place your enemies as a footstool for your feet. The rod of your power the Lord will send forth from Zion: rule in the midst of your enemies. Sovereignty is with you on the day of your strength, in the splendor of the Holy Ones: out of the womb before the light I begot you. The Lord has sworn, and will not repent of it: you are priest forever according to the order of Melchisedech. The Lord at your right hand crushes kings in the day of His wrath. He will pass judgment on the nations; He will pile up calamities, and shatter heads in many lands. He will drink from the rushing stream on the way; therefore He shall lift up His head. Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, as it was in the beginning, is now, and forever, and for generations of generations. Amen.

Soloists: Soprano – Marty Friesen, Alto – Michele Baroody, Tenor – David Raub, Bass – Jim Kamphoefner